About Us

The Foundation is a 501 (c) (3) non-profit organization dedicated to improving lives by helping credit unions better serve their members and communities with an emphasis on financial literacy, emerging credit union support, workforce development, professional development and education, and leadership development.

Download the Program Guide to see the variety of programs and grants available through the Foundation. Click here to download a copy.


The Credit Union Foundation Of Maryland & The District of Columbia Improves Lives By Working With Credit Unions In Maryland And The District of Columbia To Support Financial Self-Sufficiency And Personal, Affordable Financial Services.


To be the premier charitable foundation dedicated to assisting credit unions and the communities they serve.

Contact Information:

Kyle Y. Swisher, III
Executive Director
8975 Guilford Road
Columbia, MD. 21046-2386
443.325.0771 O
443.853.1977 F
[email protected]

Officials of the Credit Union Foundation MD|DC

Ron Shockley
VP, Operations
First Financial FCU
Lutherville, MD
Chris Conway
Educational Systems FCU
Greenbelt, MD
Kyle Y. Swisher, III
Credit Union Foundation MD|DC
Columbia, MD
Sean Zimmermann
Congressional FCU
Washington, DC
Linda Albrecht
Sales Executive
CUNA Mutual Group
New Market, MD
BeverlyZook DIRECTOR
Beverly Zook
Money One FCU
Largo, MD
Roderic Flowers
Senior VP
SECU of Maryland
Linthicum, MD
Bonnie Jacobson
Regional VP
Allied Solutions
Newtown Square, PA
Jim Whipp


The Credit Union Foundation of Maryland and the District of Columbia was founded in 1991 by the Credit Union Insurance Corporation (C.U.I.C.), a deposit insurance corporation that served state-chartered credit unions in Maryland. The Foundation was named after its founding organization as the CUIC Foundation. Its purpose was to promote the ideals of credit unions, such as their non-profit structure, member ownership, personalized service, and cooperative spirit.

In 2004 the Foundation was restructured and renamed the Maryland Credit Union Foundation and was seeded with a $2.4 million endowment when C.U.I.C. was dissolved.

In 2006, in an effort to better reflect the Foundation’s growing outreach, its name was changed to The Credit Union Foundation of Maryland and the District of Columbia. That same year the Foundation began receiving charitable support for its programs from credit unions, individuals, businesses, and the community at large.


The CUIC Board of Directors who created the Foundation:

C. Otis Hendrix, Fort Meade Community Credit Union
Ed Langville, U.S. Coast Guard Yard Credit Union
Don Agee, Maryland Credit Union League
Lisa Jester, Central Credit Union of Maryland
Charles Brackett, Post Office Credit Union of Maryland
Jerry Dooley, Fort Meade Community Credit Union
Dorothy George, Governor’s Appointee
Sandra Gossman, Lever Brothers Credit Union
John Jarosinski, White Eagle Credit Union
Dorothy Park, Central Credit Union of Maryland
Brian Vittek, MTA Credit Union


View a copy of the Foundation’s current audited financial statements.